2017 NPF

Championship Series

August 17-20


Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month


Houston, Texas-- Texas Thunder rolled over the So Cal Schutt Hurricanes with a final score of 13-2 in game one of this four-game series. With timely hitting and aggressive base running, Thunder scored the majority of their runs in the bottom of the third as they erupted for a total of seven off 14 hits. Thunder starter Christa Williams (UT) took the mound for Thunder as she held the Hurricanes to just two runs off five hits. With the win, Thunder improves to 24-8 on the season and maintains a hold on fourth place in league standings.

Thunder plated their first two runs in the first inning as right fielder Julie Watson and third baseman Clare Burnum (Oregon State) scored on second baseman Lindsay Gardner’s (UT) line drive to centerfield. With a Thunder lead of 2-0, the Hurricanes soon answered as they plated two runs of their own with a few infield singles and a timely Thunder error.

Moving to the bottom half of the third with the score tied, 2-2, Thunder exploded for seven runs on five hits to take the lead 9-2. Thunder would add one more run in the fourth with an RBI single by designated player Erin Evans (OU) and two more in the fifth with an RBI triple by centerfielder Kristen Zaleski (Texas State) and another RBI single by Burnum. Thunder added their final run on a solo home run over the left field fence by first baseman Karrie Rider (Mississippi State).

The two runs would be the only support the Hurricanes could muster as Piper Marten (Minnesota) came in relief for Thunder during the sixth to close out the game. She tossed one half an inning before the game was called due to a severe thunderstorm.

Williams takes the win to improve to 13-3 on the season while starter Gabby Guerrero takes the loss for the Hurricanes. Starter Mayumi Murakami (Mt. Sac) will take the mound for Thunder against the Hurricanes for game two of this four game regular season series. Make plans to be in attendance as the first pitch is slated for Friday, July 29 at 7:00 p.m. at Big League Dreams Park in League City.