2017 NPF

Championship Series

August 17-20


Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month

Mascarenas Slams Racers in Heat Win

Tucson, Ariz.-- – The Arizona Heat overcame a five-run deficit in the final three innings on Friday night to take their first game of the series versus the Akron Racers, 8-5. The Heat used four home runs to score eight unanswered runs, capped by a grand slam by Toni Mascarenas in the bottom of the sixth. Erica Beach (2-1) overcame a shaky start and held the Racers scoreless over the final three innings to get her second win of the season.

The two teams combined for six hom eruns. Nichole Thompson, Tairia Flowers, Tara Knudsen and Toni Mascarenas all homered, accounting for all of the Heat runs. Iyhia McMichael and Oli Keohohou homered for the Racers. It was McMichael’s second homerun in as many days.

Akron jumped out to an early lead for the third night in a row with a three-run home run by Oli Keohohou in the top of the second. The Racers added a run in the third on a solo home run by McMichael and another in the fourth on a wild pitch.

The Heat finally got a run off Akron starter Radara McHugh in the fourth on a solo home run by second baseman Nichole Thompson. McHugh pitched four strong innings, only giving up the one run and striking out four. Amy Kyler (1-1) fresh off a four-hit shutout of the Akron on Thursday, could not hold the Heat down tonight. After a lead off single by Lovie Jung, Heat first baseman Tairia Flowers hit a two-run home run to straight away center field to close the Racer lead to 5-3. Tara Knudsen led off the sixth with a pinch-hit home run to narrow the lead to one. With two outs and the bases loaded, Toni Mascarenas swatted a grand slam over the left-field fence to put the Heat up 8-5. Beach finished off her complete game by striking out Lindsey Bashor on a called strike.

Phelan Wright and Lauren Bauer had three hits apiece for the Heat, while Jenny Topping finished with three hits for the Racers.

The Heat will look to even the series tomorrow night at Hi Corbett Field at 7:30 pm.